środa, 26 czerwca 2013

Oman is an Arab state in southwest Asia on the southeast coast of the Arabian Peninsula. It has a strategically important position at the mouth of the Persian Gulf. It is bordered by the United Arab Emirates (UAE) to the northwest, Saudi Arabia to the west, and Yemen to the southwest and also shares a marine border with Iran. The coast is formed by the Arabian Sea on the southeast and the Gulf of Oman on the northeast.

Did you know that:
1. Oman is officially known as the 'Sultanate of Oman'.
2. Oman, the capital of Muscat, is also the country's largest city.
3. The official language of Oman is Arabic. Apart from that, English, Baluchi, Urdu, Hindi and other dialects are also spoken here.
4. In the past, Oman used to be one of the richest countries in the world, with the wealth mainly originating from the incense trade.
5. In Oman, Frankincense trees only grow in the wild.
6. Oman is traditionally known for breeding Arab horses.
7. Oman allowed tourists to enter its territory only at the beginning of the 1990s.
8. Every two years, an Omani person is chosen by UNESCO, for the most noteworthy contribution to environment. He is then awarded a prize by the ' Sultan of Oman'.

0 komentarze:

Prześlij komentarz