sobota, 22 czerwca 2013

Honduras is a republic in Central America. It was at times referred to as Spanish Honduras to differentiate it from British Honduras, which became the modern-day state of Belize. The country is bordered to the west by Guatemala, to the southwest by El Salvador, to the southeast by Nicaragua, to the south by the Pacific Ocean at the Gulf of Fonseca, and to the north by the Gulf of Honduras, a large inlet of the Caribbean Sea.

Did you know that:

1.  The term “Banana Republic” was first applied to Honduras by the American writer O. Henry, for the influence the U.S. banana companies had at some time.
2. The capital of Honduras is composed of two cities: Tegucigalpa and Comayagüela.
3. The Honduran currency is the lempira, and it is named after an Indian chief that fought to death against the Spanish conquerors. It is assumed that a lempira bill has an image representing the face of the legendary chief Lempira, but instead contains the image of an American Red Indian.
4. Trujillo is believed to be the place where the first Mass was celebrated in the Americas.
5. Platano Forest was nominated as one of the new seven new wonders of the world.
6. Comayagua has one of the oldest clocks in the world.
7. In Yoro there is the phenomenon of fish rain (lluvia de peces). Literally, fish fall from the sky :)

0 komentarze:

Prześlij komentarz