Saint Helena

środa, 17 sierpnia 2016

Saint Helena is a volcanic tropical island in the South Atlantic Ocean, 4,000 km east of Rio de Janeiro and 1,950 km west of the Cunene River, which marks the border between Namibia and Angola in southwestern Africa. It is part of the British Overseas Territory of Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha.

Did you know that:
1. It was named after Saint Helena of Constantinople, the consort of Roman emperor Constantius Chlorus and mother of Constantine the Great.
2. Saint Helena has only one newspaper, one radio station and one internet service provider.
3. It is now Britain’s second oldest remaining Overseas Territory, after Bermuda.
4. It is the only place on earth where the mating of whale sharks has been seen by humans.
5. The British used Saint Helena as a prison for both Napoleon and some 5,000 Boer War captives.

0 komentarze:

Prześlij komentarz