French Guiana

środa, 17 sierpnia 2016

French Guiana is an overseas department and region of France, located on the north Atlantic coast of South America in the Guyanas. It borders Brazil to the east and south, and Suriname to the west. By land area, it is the second largest region of France and the largest outermost region within the European Union.

Did you know that:
1. Cayenne pepper is named after Cayenne, the capital of French Guiana.
2. French Guiana has numerous coastal beaches that are popular nesting sites for turtles. The Leatherback turtle in particular is very fond of this region’s shoreline. It is one of the largest nesting sites for this turtle anywhere in the world.
3. French Guiana was the location of penal settlements from the middle of the nineteenth century until the middle of the twentieth century.
4. The European Space Centre is located at Kourou in French Guiana.

0 komentarze:

Prześlij komentarz