środa, 2 kwietnia 2014

Lesotho is a landlocked country completely surrounded by South Africa. It is just over 30,000 km2 in size and has a population slightly over two million. Its capital and largest city is Maseru. Lesotho is a member of the Commonwealth of Nations. The name Lesotho translates roughly into the land of the people who speak Sotho.

Did you know that:
1. The currency of the kingdom of Lesotho is Lesotho loti (ISO Code – LSL) though the South African rand is also accepted as legal tender within the kingdom.
2. The official language is English and Sesotho (or Sotho).
3. Over 80% of the country is 1,800 meters above sea level.
4. The major natural resources of Lesotho are water and diamonds. Lesotho exports mohair, wool, clothing and footwear. One of Levi’s jeans manufacturing facilities is located in this country.
5. Lesotho imports food, machinery, petroleum products, medicines and vehicles from United States of America and Canada. Agriculture includes wheat, pulses, corn, sorghum and livestock.

0 komentarze:

Prześlij komentarz