piątek, 21 lutego 2014

Mozambique is a country in Southeast Africa bordered by the Indian Ocean to the east, Tanzania to the north, Malawi and Zambia to the northwest, Zimbabwe to the west, and Swaziland and South Africa to the southwest. It is separated from Madagascar by the Mozambique Channel to the east. The capital and largest city is Maputo (previously called Lourenço Marques before independence).

Did you know that:
1. The country of Mozambique, in terms of geographical area occupied, is only smaller than twice the size of the state of California in the United States of America.
2. Portuguese is the official language in the country of Mozambique. However, Swahili, Sena and Makhuwa are spoken commonly across the length and breadth of the country.
3. Lake Niassa in Mozambique makes for one of the largest lakes in the continent of Africa.
4. Although Lake Niassa is a part of the country of Mozambique, the country still shares it with the countries of Tanzania and Malawi.
5. The Mozambican metical is the currency used in Mozambique.
6. The Vumba Rock Paintings are thought to be around 8,000 years old. They depict hunters and other human figures and animals.

2 komentarze:

Balthasar Kingwell pisze...

The souvenirs look even better now, Ola :-)

This page is very pleasing to me -- the only thing missing are more facts! ;-)

Hm...I could try to help you get a few postcards / keychains from the neighbouring countries...

Souvenirmaniac pisze...

I'm always picking only few and the most interesting facts about each country ;)

And of course I'd be DELIGHTED if you could help me get postcards and keychains from neighbour countries! You know how to find me ;) So feel free to send me a message ;)

Take care,

Prześlij komentarz