wtorek, 23 lipca 2013

Nauru - officially the Republic of Nauru and formerly known as Pleasant Island - is an island country in Micronesia in the South Pacific. Its nearest neighbour is Banaba Island in Kiribati, 300 kilometres to the east. Nauru is the world's smallest republic, covering just 21 square kilometres. With 9,378 residents, it is the second least-populated country after Vatican City.

Did you know that:
1. British Captain John Fearn, a whale hunter, was the first Westerner to visit the island in 1798 and named it Pleasant Island.
2. The national currency of Nauru is Australian Dollar.
3. Life expectancy in this small island nation is 61-years-old.
4. Nauruan is the official language of the island, although English is also widely spoken.
5. The climate of Nauru is a tropical one, with moderate summers and winters.
6. Nauru is the world's smallest island nation, covering just 21 km².
7. It is the only republican state in the world without an official capital.
8. A traditional activity enjoyed at Nauru is catching noddy birds, when they return from foraging at sea.

0 komentarze:

Prześlij komentarz