British Virgin Islands

czwartek, 3 lipca 2014

The British Virgin Islands (BVI), is a British overseas territory located in the Caribbean to the east of Puerto Rico. The islands make up part of the Virgin Islands archipelago; the remaining islands constitute the US Virgin Islands and the Spanish Virgin Islands.

Did you know that:
1. The official name of the Territory is still simply the "Virgin Islands", but the prefix "British" is often used to distinguish it from the neighbouring American territory which changed its name from the "Danish West Indies" to "Virgin Islands of the United States" in 1917.
2. The British Virgin Islands consist of the main islands of Tortola, Virgin Gorda, Anegada, and Jost Van Dyke, along with over fifty other smaller islands and cays. About 15 of the islands are inhabited.
3. National flower is white cedar (tebebuia heterophylla). It is the flower of the white cedar tree, the territorial tree which is indegenous to the Virgin Islands and was integral in the development of the Virgin Islands sloop and in turn, the economy.
4. National bird is turtle dove (zenaida aurta). Tortola is named the land of the Turtle Dove.

2 komentarze:

Krystyna pisze...

Piękna ta pocztówka.

Souvenirmaniac pisze...

Też bardzo mi się spodobała :)

Prześlij komentarz