czwartek, 29 maja 2014

Latvia is a country in the Baltic region of Northern Europe. It is bordered by Estonia, Lithuania, Russia, Belarus and by a maritime border to the west with Sweden. Latvia has 2,003,000 inhabitants and a territory of 64,589 km2.

Did you know that:
1. Historically, Latvia is known by the name Lettland. Lettland gets its name from the natives ‘Letts’ or the Lettish people.
2. Riga Castle was constructed for the Livonian Order of Knights in 1330. In the present time, the Riga Castle is the official home of the President of Latvia.
3. The capital of Latvia, Riga is famous for some of the best Art Nouveau architecture in Europe.
4. In the 17th Century, Tobago, one of the two Caribbean islands comprising the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago, was temporarily a colony of the Duchy of Courland which is now a part of Latvia.
5. After Finland, Sweden and Slovenia, Latvia has the 4th highest portion of land covered by forests in the European Union.

0 komentarze:

Prześlij komentarz