poniedziałek, 12 maja 2014

Guam is an organized, unincorporated territory of the United States in the western Pacific Ocean. It is one of five U.S. territories with an established civilian government. Guam is listed as one of seventeen Non-Self-Governing Territories by the Special Committee on Decolonization of the United Nations. The island's capital is Hagåtña (formerly named Agana). Guam is the largest and southernmost of the Mariana Islands.

Did you know that:
1. The official languages of Guam are English and Chamorro.
2. Bougainvillea spectabilis or Puti Tai Nobiu is the nation flower of Guam.
3. Mariana Trench, deepest part of the ocean in the world, is in the vicinity of Guam.
4. The beaches of Guam are not covered with sand but ground coral, which means this island, does not have sand!
5. Most part of Guam observe all the American holidays. However, it has two specific national holidays, which are the Guam Discovery Day, held on the first Monday in March and the Liberation Day, on 21 July.
6. Cultural traditions include galaide canoe making, making and playing the belembaotuyan string instrument, different types of rituals and festivals, and the preparation of various herbal medicines.

0 komentarze:

Prześlij komentarz