wtorek, 24 grudnia 2013

The Gambia is a country in West Africa. It is surrounded by Senegal, apart from a short strip of Atlantic coastline at its western end. It is the smallest country on mainland Africa. The country is situated either side of the Gambia River, the nation's namesake, which flows through the country's centre and empties into the Atlantic Ocean. Banjul is the Gambian capital, but the largest cities are Serekunda and Brikama.

Did you know that:
1. The earliest known settlers in Gambia are believed to the people of the Jola or Diola tribe. Today they form only about 10% of the population of Gambia.
2. Most of the population of Gambia is a mix of people belonging to the people from various tribes like Mandinka, Fula, Wolof, Wolof, and Serahuli.
3. Though English is the official language of the country, people also speak Mandinka, Wolof and Fula.
4. No area of Gambia is populated by people belonging to just one ethnic group.
5. The official currency of The Gambia is dalasi.
6. Gambia exports peanut products, fish and cotton lint and palm kernels. They import foodstuffs, manufactures, fuel, machinery and transport equipment.
7. The natural resources are fish, titanium (rutile and ilmenite), tin zircon, silica sand, clay and petroleum. The major trading partners are India, UK, France, Italy, Cote d’Ivoire, China, Senegal, Brazil and Netherlands.

0 komentarze:

Prześlij komentarz