poniedziałek, 28 października 2013

Palau is an island country located in the western Pacific Ocean. It is geographically part of the larger island group of Micronesia. The country's population of around 21,000 is spread across 250 islands forming the western chain of the Caroline Islands. The most populous island is Koror. The islands share maritime boundaries with Indonesia, Philippines and the Federated States of Micronesia.

Did you know that:
1. Palau is often referred to as Belau.
2. In the Pacific Ocean, Palau is a part of the Caroline Island chain. In 1500, European explorers first discovered the Caroline Islands.
3. In 1783, Palau was accidentally discovered by the shipwrecked crew of Captain Henry Wilson when he reached the shores of Ulong.
4. In the Republic of Palau, the highest point is Mount Ngerchelchuus (242m).
5. Palau’s currency is the U.S. dollar.
6. The languages spoken are English, Japanese, Palauan and 3 other local languages.
7. Palauan women, like their male counterparts, traditionally used to go topless in the past. They used only a two-piece skirt and a few garlands as costumes. Today, some local women still continue their traditional dressing, although more covered and conservative styles of modern clothing have found their way into their culture, especially with the heavy influx of tourists.

0 komentarze:

Prześlij komentarz