New Zealand

czwartek, 24 października 2013

New Zealand is an island country in the southwestern Pacific Ocean. The country geographically comprises two main landmasses ‒ that of the North and South Islands ‒ and numerous smaller islands. New Zealand is situated some 1,500 kilometres east of Australia across the Tasman Sea and roughly 1,000 kilometres south of the Pacific island nations of New Caledonia, Fiji, and Tonga. Because of its remoteness, it was one of the last lands to be settled by humans.

Did you know that:
1. Nelson was the first city in the world, which introduced the eight-hour work day.
2. Sources close to Nelson Waikoropupu contain the purest spring water in the world. Its capacity is 2.16 million gallons of water a day.
3. In the local language Maori New Zealand is called Aotearoa which means "country of the long white cloud".
4. On Thursdays in pubs and clubs can be found almost as many guests as on Saturday - people enjoy that tomorrow Friday! :)
5. New Zealand is one of only three countries that have two official national anthems. One of them is "God Save the Queen" and the other "God Defend New Zealand" (two other countries are Denmark and Canada).
6. Probably the longest geographic name in the world is Taumatawhakatangihangakoauauotamateapokaiwhenuakitanatahu - that is one of the hills in New Zealand with a height of 305 meters :)
7. In 2001 New Zealand declared itself to accept residents of Tuvalu in an emergency flooding across the ocean.

0 komentarze:

Prześlij komentarz