czwartek, 6 marca 2014

Malta is a southern European country in the Mediterranean Sea. It lies 80 km south of Sicily, 284 km east of Tunisia and 333 km north of Libya. The country covers just over 316 km2, making it one of the world's smallest and most densely populated countries. The capital of Malta is Valletta, which is also the smallest capital in the EU at 0.8 km2.

Did you know that:
1. Malta has two official languages: Maltese and English.
2. In the past, there used to be a bridge connecting Malta with Sicily.
3. Even though the Maltese Islands are tiny, major worldwide newspapers are still sold on the islands. The most common international newspapers that you’ll find are British, French and Italian newspapers.
4. Malta was earlier known as Melita, meaning the island of honey, by ancient Greeks and Romans.
5. The Temple at Ggantija traces back its foundation to a time period much before the Egyptian pyramids.
6. Malta is believed to have served as the site for the legendary city of Atlantis.

0 komentarze:

Prześlij komentarz