Saint Lucia

piątek, 17 stycznia 2014

Saint Lucia is a sovereign island country in the eastern Caribbean Sea on the boundary with the Atlantic Ocean. Part of the Lesser Antilles, it is located north/northeast of the island of Saint Vincent, northwest of Barbados and south of Martinique. It covers a land area of 617 km2.

Did you know that:
1. St Lucia has won no Olympic medals. Its largest team was six athletes at Atlanta 1996.
2. Jacquot, or the St. Lucia Parrot, is a bird native only to these islands. It is the national bird of St. Lucia, and its scientific name is Amazona Versicolor.
3. The East Caribbean dollar (EC$) is the national currency of St. Lucia.
4. St. Lucia was known as the Island of the Iguanas by the Amerindian Arawak and Carib people who are known to have been among the earliest settlers here.
5. The rules for driving in St Lucia officially state that roads should be approached from the left hand side.

0 komentarze:

Prześlij komentarz