piątek, 15 listopada 2013

Guinea is a country in West Africa. Formerly known as French Guinea, it is today sometimes called Guinea-Conakry to distinguish it from its neighbour Guinea-Bissau and the Republic of Equatorial Guinea. It has a population of 10,057,975 and an area of 246,000 square kilometres. Forming a crescent as it curves from its western border on the Atlantic Ocean toward the east and the south, it shares its northern border with Guinea-Bissau, Senegal, and Mali, and its southern border with Sierra Leone, Liberia, and Côte d'Ivoire.

Did you know that:
1. The official language is French though many ethnic groups such as the Fula, Mandingo and Susu speak their own native languages.
2. Guinea boasts of spectacular landscape with lush and verdant rainforests and plenty of wildlife in the south. The waterfall-rich Fouta Djalon Plateau in the west has breathtaking scenery.
3. Conakry is the capital city of Guinea.
4. The natural resources include major mineral deposits, hydroelectric power resources and rich agricultural potential. Guinea is the world’s second-largest bauxite producing nation.
5. The literacy rate of Guinea is very low. Guinea has a rich musical tradition like other West African countries.

0 komentarze:

Prześlij komentarz